Install
Origin alternatives
3 tools to consider instead of Origin, shown against it.
| Origin | GraphPad Prism | MATLAB | JMP | |||||||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vendor | OriginLab Corporation | Dotmatics (GraphPad Software) | MathWorks | SAS Institute Inc. (JMP Statistical Discovery) | ||||||||||||
| Pricing model | Subscription | Subscription | Subscription | Quote only | ||||||||||||
| Free tier | No | No | No | Yes | ||||||||||||
| Deployment | Self-hosted | Cloud, Self-hosted | Cloud, Self-hosted | Cloud, Self-hosted | ||||||||||||
| Open source | No | No | No | No | ||||||||||||
| Best for | Physical-science and engineering labs needing curve fitting and publication-quality technical graphs. | Bench scientists and clinical researchers who need guided statistics and journal-ready graphs without programming. | Engineers and quantitative researchers doing algorithm prototyping, simulation, and applied numerical/statistical analysis. | Engineers and scientists running design-of-experiments work and visual exploratory analysis. | ||||||||||||
| Pricing | Node-locked or network licenses, sold annually or perpetually with a year of maintenance included; separate individual, group, and site pricing, plus discounted academic/student tiers not disclosed online.
Prices read from the vendor's own page on September 21, 2026. Vendors change prices; check the source before you budget. | Per-seat annual subscription tiered by student/academic/corporate status, a monthly option, and one-time perpetual licenses without upgrades.
Prices read from the vendor's own page on September 21, 2026. Vendors change prices; check the source before you budget. | Per-seat annual (or perpetual) license for standard commercial use, with separate discounted pricing tracks for startups, academic institutions, students, and home use not disclosed online.
Prices read from the vendor's own page on September 21, 2026. Vendors change prices; check the source before you budget. | Annual per-seat subscription with volume discounts; exact prices are not published and require the JMP store or a sales quote. JMP Student Edition is free for students and educators. Checked on the vendor's own page on September 21, 2026: no prices are published. Expect to be quoted. | ||||||||||||
| Features |
|
|
|
|